Common Council

The City of Dunkirk’s Legislative body was originally formed in 1837 as the Board of Trustees for the newly created Village of Dunkirk. In 1880 the City of Dunkirk was formed and this legislative body took on its current name, the Common Council.

The Common Council consists of 5 members elected from the community. Each of the four City Wards is represented by a Council person and the group is led and presided over by a Council person at large who represents the entire City population.

This legislative body is charged with approving the City’s Budget, presiding over the City’s Charter and other legislative matters. As of October 2, 2012 the Common Council now meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 5:30pm in the City Hall Council chambers.  The Council also meets as needed throughout the year to address matters of an emergent nature. The public is encouraged to attend and participate in all council meetings.

Current Members of City of Dunkirk Common Council

Andrew Woloszyn, Councilman at Large

Donald Williams, First Ward Councilman

Marty Bamonto, Second Ward Councilman

Shaun Heenan, Third Ward Councilman

Michael Civiletto, Fourth Ward Councilman


Council News

See the City’s response to the 2012 New York State Comptrollers Audit